Monday, November 26, 2012

HCCA Annual General Meeting 2012

HCCA’s Annual General Meeting was held on Thursday 15 November at 5:00pm in the Drawing Room at University House. It was a magnificent event with a very strong turnout and I would like to thank to all attendees for their time and participation.
Ngunnawal Elder, Aunty Agnes Shea welcomes us all to Country
Professor Sharon Friel from the Australian National University gave a very informative and captivating speech about how public policy can reduce health inequalities experienced in our community. Professor Friel’s speech and presentation can be viewed on our website.
Professor Sharon Friel

Adele Stevens gave her last report as president. Adele has been the president of Health Care Consumers’ Association for four years and we have greatly appreciated her significant commitment to the organisation. Adele’s full report is available in the Annual Report and the speech she gave at the AGM will be posted to our blog.

Our outgoing President thanked Russell McGowan and Marion Reilly for their contribution to the Executive Committee, who have both stepped down from their positions. Although they are no longer on the Executive Committee, I am sure they will continue to be very active members within the organisation.

As part of the organisational business undertaken at the meeting, HCCA elected its new Executive Committee. The Executive Committee for the next year is as follows:

  • President: Sue Andrews (term ends 2014) 
  •  Vice-President: Adele Stevens (term ends 2014) 
  •  Treasurer: Bev McConnell (term ends 2013)
  • General Members: Therese Findlay, Sharon Eacott, Caroline Polak Scowcroft, David Lovegrove (term ends 2013), Michelle Banfield and Bill Heins (term ends 2014)
Our new Executive Committee

I look forward to working with the new Committee in the coming year.

Darlene Cox
Executive Director

No comments: